The other evening I had a long coversation with a sister lawyer friend of mine, outside my home in Roxbury. It was loud outside, the music, the sirens, the ” yoyoyo”s & screeching cars. Per usual, I was annoyed. She asked, why live here? You can afford somewhere else. I told her , I think about it all the time, but having lived in nyc twice ( & i really love brooklyn), coming home to Roxbury is …

special. I wouldn’t trade being a criola from Dudley Street for any of my accolades. And I know for some weird reason God has put me back where it all began for me, so that I can create something better & bigger than myself. So although its a love/hate relationship w/ the trials of urban life I rather be a champion for my Roxbury in Roxbury, than be just 1 more person that turns her/his back on the soul of this city. if Roxbury doesn’t progress, neither will Boston.-endnote
